Connect with us

Wrestling Culture | WWE News & Rumors

NJPW Announces the Dates and Venues for the G1 Climax 2018

NJPW

NJPW Announces the Dates and Venues for the G1 Climax 2018

NJPW confirms the dates for the G1 Climax 28 of the year for the company


New Japan Pro-Wrestling (NJPW) has announced the dates and venues for the G1 Climax 2018 (G1 Climax 28) events. The company has unveiled it during the break of today’s show Sakura Genesis 2018 and has confirmed several dates and extra venues, highlighting new stadiums where they had not held events and returning to others that are regular visits.

Among the highlights, NJPW will hold an event for the first time at the Hachioji Esforta Arena. There will also be repeated presence in outstanding arenas, such as the Korakuen Hall, the Ota Ward General Gymnasium and two days in the Osaka Prefectural Gymnasium. The last three days will be the most important dates, with the finals (10, 11 and 12 August) taking place at the Nippon Budoukan. The importance of Budoukan should be highlighted, an area that NJPW returns to after 15 years. Ryogoku Kokugikan will be undergoing renovations, so NJPW will return to the 17,000-seat arena.

Without further delay we leave you with the list of definitive dates and venues:

  • Day 1. Date: Saturday, July 14. Campus: Ota Ward General Gymnasium, in Tokyo.
  • Day 2. Date: Sunday, July 15. Campus: Ota Ward General Gymnasium, in Tokyo.
  • Day 3. Date: Monday, July 16. Precinct: Hokkaido Prefectural Sports Center, in Sapporo.
  • Day 4. Date: Thursday, July 19. Venue: Korakuen Hall, in Tokyo.
  • Day 5. Date: Friday, July 20. Venue: Korakuen Hall, in Tokyo.
  • Day 6. Date: Saturday, July 21. Venue: Korakuen Hall, in Tokyo.
  • Day 7. Date: Sunday, July 22. Enclosure: Esforta Arena, in Hachioji, Tokyo.
  • Day 8. Date: Thursday, July 26. Enclosure: Aore Nagaoka, in Niigata.
  • Day 9. Date: Friday, July 27. Venue: Act City Hamamatsu, in Shizuoka.
  • Day 10. Date: Saturday, July 28. Precinct: Aichi Prefectural Gymnasium, in Aichi.
  • Day 11. Date: Monday, July 30. Precinct: Takamatsu General City Gymnasium, in Kagawa.
  • Day 12. Date: Wednesday, August 1st. Enclosure: Kagoshima Arena, in Kagoshima.
  • Day 13. Date: Thursday, August 2. Venue: Fukuoka Citizen Gymnasium, in Fukuoka.
  • Day 14. Date: Saturday, August 4. Venue: EDION Arena Osaka, in Osaka.
  • Day 15. Date: Sunday, August 5. Venue: EDION Arena Osaka, in Osaka.
  • Day 16. Date: Wednesday, August 8. Campus: Yokohama Cultural Gymnasium, in Kanagawa.
  • Day 17. Date: Friday, August 10. Enclosure: Nippon Budokan, in Tokyo. (Final Block A)
  • Day 18. Date: Saturday, August 11. Enclosure: Nippon Budokan, in Tokyo. (Final Block B)
  • Day 19. Date: Sunday, August 12. Enclosure: Nippon Budokan, in Tokyo. (Final G1 Climax 28)

The G1 Climax is the most prominent tournament of the company and is held during the summer of each year. The tournament is held in two blocks in Round Robin format. Each victory adds two points, a tie for time limit 1 point and 0 a loss or any other result.

The fighters who win each block will face each other in the final. The winner of the tournament will get an opportunity for the IWGP Heavyweight Championship in the main event of Wrestle Kingdom 13. Last year the winner was Tetsuya Naito defeating Kenny Omega in the final.

Comments

More in NJPW



RECENT HEADLINES

To Top